I’m scared

I know, I know,  I said I was going to keep my pets out of this blog, and for the most part I’m going to try to stick to that promise (I may love cats, but I’ve just about had it with their attempts at taking over the internet), but the truth is that right now I’m scared. The girl you see in the featured image is Shadow. She has been my constant companion for well over fourteen years, and seeing how she wasn’t exactly a puppy when we first met, she is at least fifteen years old. That makes her a grand old lady by dog standards, and right now she has an abscessed tooth that needs to come out. The surgery is scheduled for tomorrow. Now, I realize that a tooth extraction is a fairly straight forward proposition, and my vet tells me that she’s in about as good a shape as a fifteen-year-old dog can be, but the whole thing does call for general anesthesia, and I am almost painfully aware of the fact that at her age there’s no such thing as a minor surgery.

What can I say? I may know that no matter what I do, our time together is running out, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

Okay, now I should probably try to tie this post to my writing somehow, so here you have a totally shameless plug for one of my books. What follows is an annotated version of Laira‘s dedication:

Because love has nothing to do with species, this book is dedicated to:
Goldie, Snow and Chessie, for being there when I needed them most, [those three got me through my mom’s passing]
to Shadow, who is still with me as I write these words, [here’s hoping she will stay there for a little, or preferably a lot, longer]
to my childhood pets (no, I haven’t forgotten you guys, but if I were to list you all I would have to write another book),
and finally to my future pets, because life goes on. [see below]

And speaking of future pets (and to avoid another pet related post), I figured that might just as well mention that since that book was released we did add a new member to the family. His name is Terri, and he has an uncanny ability to make me smile.

Terri

UPDATE: We are home, and everything went fine, though her teeth were in worse shape than originally thought.

Leave a Reply

