The case against having my own domain

As you may have noticed, I decided to stick with a cheap-sounding, free, URL for this site, rather than paying for a domain of my own. I do realize that that does not come across as all that professional, but in the end I figured that the pros outweighed the cons, why? Well, there are a couple of reasons.

First of all there is the fact that I am leaning towards having a couple of separate blogs for different purposes, and integrating them as best I can via their menus.  This one will focus on my books and maybe on some of my experiences as a writer struggling to get the word out about the fact that, even though my refusal to sign up for a facebook  account would seem to suggest otherwise, I do exist.

That means that there will be no posts about politics, pets or pet peeves here (and also that posts may be few and far between).

The second reason has to do with the fact that, if for whatever reason I fail to renew my domain, all links to my site/blog would  immediately become dead ends. By choosing the free option I’m hoping to add a measure of stability to the whole thing. I don’t know if this bet will pay off, and as usual I reserve the right to change my mind, but at least for the time being that’s where I stand.

Leave a Reply

